is this it?

04Nov09

I got up this morning, still half asleep – attempting to come out of my alarm induced waking. Alarms should be outlawed – the body should get up when it’s good and ready.  I try to remember what day it is – Wednesday – hump day – 2 days till Friday – when I come to the realization – IS THIS IT? Am I meant to work Monday-Friday as a wage slave, peasant, serf, worker bee who counts the days to the weekend and vacation time. So let me get this straight – myself and others who are supposed to be thrilled that we even have this opportunity in today’s economy to be able to go to work – we work 5 days a week for at least 8 hours a day in order to have 2 days off to try to recover from the week just to get up on Monday and do it all over again. Or we take a week or two off to “get away” and “forget about life for awhile” just to come back and have “reality” slap us cold in the face again. But wait! After 30 years of doing this we get to retire – well maybe – if you still have your health to go out and play. Who in the hell invented this fucked up system? Oh yea- the ones with power did and from the moment most of us are born we have entered into “the system”. We go to pre-school to prepare us for elementary school and elementary school to prep us for middle school and middle school to prep us for high school and high school to prep us for college, technical/job training, or the military – all institutions that exist to prepare us for a “job” which becomes our primary purpose in life. HUH? And the cycle continues – we have kids and indoctrinate them into the same system that exists to serve someone with money and power. So what is the answer? I have no idea but I am attempting to find out. I am looking for another way to live – where we work in order to live and not live in order to work. We are all burning out and then guilt-ed in to feeling gratitude that we even have this job. Well I have discovered for myself that ignorance is not bliss – it’s just ignorance and there is more out there than this small window so many of us  seem to be staring through – and I’m looking for it.

2 Responses to “is this it?”

  1. Isn’t your “Ad-free Blog” image and ad in and of itself?

  2. 2 anndar

    It’s not selling anything so I would say no – it’s a statement


Leave a Reply

